On TV

"Yo, La Parranda Puertorriqueña” Today

The documentary will be presented on Thursday, January 5, at 9:00 pm EST/6:00pm PST; Friday, January 6th, 6:00 pm EST/3:00pm PST; and, Saturday, January 7, 9:30pm EST/6:30 pm PST

New York, NY--(HISPANIC PR WIRE)--January 2, 2006--The documentary presents the traditional Puerto Rican Parranda as it is celebrated in New York City. Entitled “Yo, La Parranda Puertorriqueña” includes the history of this European tradition and its current manifestation by Puerto Ricans in the Diaspora. The documentary begins in Yomo Toro’s house, as Pepe Castillo and Estampa Criolla, surprise him with a Parranda, traditional music of the season. Finally, both Pepe and Yomo join the festivities at El Maestro Cultural and Educational Center and joined in song and dance by Los Pleneros de 21, a traditional bomba and plena group recently nominated for an Emmy Award. Yerbabuena, a young group of musicians also join the festivities.

The Hispanic Information & Telecommunications Network, Inc., is the first Hispanic public television network in the Unites States. HITN-TV distributes its programming 24/7 and is the #1 Spanish language cable networks in the United Sates.

HITN’s mission is “to advance the educational, cultural, and socio-economic aspirations of Hispanics in the United States and Puerto Rico through Telecommunications”. Since its inception in 1983, HITN has maintained quality programming and is committed to the concept of distance learning for students and producing innovative, entertaining, and informative programs for adults. As a public broadcasting station, it is committed to the production of documentaries based on the unique experiences Spanish speaking community throughout the United States.

HITN has currently relocated to its new administrative offices and state of the arts production studio in the Brooklyn Navy Yard, at 63 Flushing Avenue, Brooklyn, New York 11205.

HITN Cable and Satellite Transmission Systems

DishNetwork 843 & 9401 National – Regular & Latino Package
DirecTV 438 National - Latino Package
Time Warner Cable 811 NYC/NJ - Latino Package
Time Warner Cable 167 Kansas - Latino Package
ComCast 649 Denver - Latino Package
0